Comprehensive history of the church is here
A new St Nicholas’ Church section contains twenty six separate pages and includes a huge variety of photographs and drawings of the church and churchyard. Find out the origins of the church and how it has grown over the years. One of St Nicholas’ greatest treasures is the unique font which was carved in approximately 1170, from a single block of Caen stone. There is also a stunning collection of stained glass windows created by the master of the craft Thomas Eamer Kempe.
St Nicholas’ Church is the ancient parish church, and the Mother Church of Brighton. It is dedicated to St Nicholas of Myra who is the patron saint of fishermen and sailors; the church is mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086. Read about the history and the people of St. Nicholas’, from its very early times until today. St Nicholas’ Church is a Grade II* Listed Building, indicating that it is a particularly important building of more than special interest.