Stations of the Cross

Click on the images to open a large version in a new window. Click again on image to further enlarge.

Origins of the ‘stations’

The idea of representations of the stations of the cross is thought to have originated in pilgrimages to the Holy Land. It is suggested that the earliest use of the word ‘stations,’ as applied to the accustomed halting-places in the Via Sacra at Jerusalem, occurs in the narrative of a pilgrim who visited the Holy Land in the mid-15th century. His account described pilgrims following the footsteps of Christ to the cross using these ‘stations’.

Variation in number

In the 15th and 16th centuries the number of stations varied from seven to thirty; seven being the most common. From the 17th century to the present day, the accepted number of stations has been fourteen and follows Christ’s progress from the court of Pontius Pilate to the tomb. The celebration of the Stations of the Cross is especially common on the Fridays of Lent, especially Good Friday.

Donated by Dame Flora Robson

St Nicholas’ Stations of the Cross consist of fourteen carved plaques which were presented to Dame Flora Robson who donated them to the church. Dame Flora was a very well known and well respected actress whose career in the theatre and films spanned many decades; she was a regular worshipper at St Nicholas’.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *